Marathon Training Week 14 and Race Results

For the final weeks of training I plan on adding conditioning in to my training to help me get stronger. I feel like this has been an important element I’ve been lacking in my training and will help me and my knee pain. We shall see.

 

Monday:

1.5 miles – light jogging around the neighborhood with my puppy. Then the pouring rain came and cut us short. Lungs feeling better.

Evening Conditioning – Turbo Jam Lower Body Jam 8lbs weights and resistance band. Felt good.

 

Tuesday:

Morning Conditioning – P90X Ab Ripper X – OWIE!!!!

3.29 miles – Forest Lawn cemetery after work. Cold but good. Needed the hill work and practicing for Sunday’s race in the same place. Nice solid pace. Had a lovely deer join me on my run for part of it.

 

Wednesday:

Body Combat Kickboxing class – intense and fabulous. As always.

 

Thursday:

4.11 miles – Treadmill because I was in a hurry. Good form, but it was so HOT in the gym I was dying. Kinda sick of the treadmill. How sad since I use to love it.

After run conditioning – 20 minutes on the stationary bike, 30 minutes of ab work with an 8lb medicine ball. 10 minute walk with dad on the treadmill. Felt rather sore after all that.

 

Friday:

Resting up for the weekend.

 

Saturday:

12 Miles north route with the Fleet Feet crew. Felt amazing, no knee pain and felt strong the whole way. Loving my new shoes: Asics Gel Nimbus. They are amazing and I finished thinking I could have done at least 4 more miles. It was awesome

 

Sunday:

Shoes for the Shelter 5K – 3.1 miles

This is the race I bombed last year with a time of 51:15 due to an asthma attack. This year I was much faster! 34:11 is my chip time, but it was a gun start so it was actually 33 something by all my watch counts. Not bad considering the murderous hills on the course. I was so proud of myself for not having another bad race here. I also tried KT Tape for extra support on my knee and it worked wonderfully. Highly recommended.

Here is some video from the race of a guys that I got to meet. Quite an inspiration:

http://www.wgrz.com/video/default.aspx?bctid=899301058001

 

Total Milage for the Week: 24.64 miles

Total Workout times for the week: 5 hours and 53 minutes

Total Training Milage to date: 236.71 miles

 

Ready for the next week. Bring it on!

One thought on “Marathon Training Week 14 and Race Results

  1. I love KT Tape and it saves my knees each week in the long runs. Now that the weather is warmer you can catch me sporting my sexy blue-taped knees.

    Sounds like you had an amazing fitness week. Glad your back at it.

Leave a Reply

