Linda Yalem Safety Run 5K Race Recap

This is going to be a short post.

Once again, was really sick but certainly felt better than on Saturday. It was comforting knowing I only had to suffer through 3 miles instead of 13. Plus I was run/walking. I mentored for the No Boundaries program on Monday nights during the summer. At least, on the days when I wasn’t working. It is a program for people learning to run their first 5K. The run walkers would be completing the course at a 4:1 interval. 4 minutes running 1 minute walking. I decided to stick with them because I wanted to take it easy instead of going with the run group. I stayed towards the back and bounced back and forth between about 3-4 people. I spent most of my time with Patty (I am terrible with names but I think that was it), who was actually in the fall no boundaries and just testing herself. She held on strong with the 4:1 intervals even though she wasn’t at that level yet. I helped her run it in and gave her a big hug. It was very emotional and she almost cried a few times. I won’t share her story here because it is personal, but it is amazing that all these women and men have such inspiring stories.

After I got her in I went back out to run in with our last person. She had 5 coaches with her, including myself. And all together we ran our little entourage across the finish line. It was amazing the energy and cheering of all the mentors and participants. I was sore and sick and somehow still felt great. I was so proud of all of them and how far they had come. My finish was 43:52 but I somehow managed to run 4 miles instead of 3 with all the back and forth I did on the course between people. I was glad I could do this race with them, and it made me happy for the rest of the day as I headed off to work.

If you are ever feeling low, inspire and motivate someone else. The feeling won’t last for long. 🙂

Leave a Reply

