A New Year for Your (almost) New Resolutions

Ah, the new year…. Here it is again. Excited aren’t you? That time of the year where you promise yourself this year is going to be different. You tell yourself: I will eat better! I will get organized! I will run 10 miles a day! I’ll quit smoking/drinking/sniffing permanent markers! I will use my $300 gym membership that I’m going to buy tomorrow! I will finally lose 10 [20, 30, 50, 100] pounds! I will get out of debt! I will write a book! I will climb Mount Everest! I will do more charity work and feed those starving kids! I will single-handedly revolutionize the connection of individuals and become a billionaire by inventing the next Facebook!

FACT: 64 percent of New Year’s resolutions fail. 30% of those failures take place in the first two months of the year.

Does this mean you shouldn’t set resolutions? No. You just need to make more realistic goals. Call them goals, not resolutions. Strive for life changes, not quick fixes. Read any number of Yahoo News articles right now and you can get tons of tips on how to make your resolutions stick. Everything from post-it noting your fridge to death to buying any number of programs that claim to help you. The best advice for goals is to make them attainable, measurable, and break them down into smaller goals. Oh, and let’s not forget the most important part: Rewarding yourself (not with food, your not a dog).

All that being said, goals set at a New Year can be met. I’ve been meeting them for a couple years now.
In 2007 I wanted to run a 5K. A really hard task for me at the time. I couldn’t run a whole mile.
My goal for 2010 was to finish a half marathon.
2011: A full marathon and get a half marathon time below 3 hours.
When I wrote out my five year goal plan in 2008 my 2012 goal was to finish my first Triathlon. So that is what I am going to do this year. I’ll become a triathlete.

In addition to adding that fun title to my fitness identity I have a couple other goals in mind as I meet the New Year.

Run a 5K under 28 minutes
Run a Half Marathon under 2 hours and 15 minutes
Run my 30K under 4 hours (and then don’t run 30Ks anymore!)
Run a Marathon under 5 hours and 15 minutes (I really want sub-5, but I’ll settle for 5:14:59)
Reach a healthy BMI/Body Fat Percentage

All of those seem perfectly attainable from here. Of course I started marathon training today…so everything seems easier then facing another marathon in the Spring. I’m two minutes away from the 5K time and closer than ever to a healthy BMI. I’d say lose 20-25 pounds, but that’s not really what it is about. As unhappy as I was when I weighed 250lbs, the part that got to me the most was the way I felt. I felt unhealthy and I worried about ending up with a myriad of health conditions. Issues like diabetes and heart trouble run in my family and I didn’t want to be there. So I’ll keep striving for a healthy BMI, lower body fat percentage, and a fitter running bod and be content with that.

Now comes my soap box moment (oh wait, this is a blog, its all a soap box moment!). If you do find yourself in the 64% this year, it is not the end of the world. Shake it off and set a new goal. Not next year, but the next moment (or day/week). Don’t wait for the timing to be right because we only have a limited amount of it. Set your new goal and start over. Make the commitment to yourself to be healthier, happier, and better. It is entirely possible, but you are the only person that can make it happen for yourself.

Stop waiting, start doing.

Happy New Year friends!

 

 

One thought on “A New Year for Your (almost) New Resolutions

  1. Shalama Jackson

    Good luck on your goals. I’ve kept mine realistic even though they require some serious work and commitment to running thought put the entire year, not just when I am training for an event.

    Keep moving

Leave a Reply

